The ECHL on Monday announced that Justin Danforth of the Cincinnati Cyclones has been named CCM Rookie of the Year and the recipient of the John A. Daley Memorial Trophy.


The award is presented annually to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the ECHL as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.. The trophy was named in honor of John A. Daley in 1997. Daley, who passed away in 1996, was one of the founding fathers of the ECHL, serving as general manger and minority owner of the Johnstown Chiefs from the inception of the team in 1988 until 1994.


Grant Besse of Norfolk finished second, followed by Kalamazoo’s Aaron IrvingJustin Parizek of Idaho and Wheeling’s Reid Gardiner.


The ECHL will announce the winner of the Coach of the Year and recipient of the John Brophy Award on Tuesday.


Danforth, who was named to the ECHL All-Rookie Team and the All-ECHL Second Team last week, finished third among rookies with 28 goals and 59 points despite being recalled to Rochester of the American Hockey League since Feb. 13. His eight power-play goals were tied for second among first-year players while his 18 power-play points were tied for third. Danforth represented the Cyclones at the 2018 CCM/ECHL All-Star Classic, where he won the Fastest Skater competition in an ECHL Skills Competition record 12.75 seconds.


The 25-year-old has added five points (2g-3a) in 15 AHL games with Rochester. Prior to turning pro, he tallied 124 points (42g-82a) in 147 career games at Sacred Heart University.


ECHL Rookie of the Year Winners

2017-18      Justin Danforth, Cincinnati Cyclones
2016-17      Tyson Spink, Toledo Walleye
2015-16      Matt Willows, Florida Everblades
2014-15      Tyler Barnes, Toledo Walleye
2013-14      William Rapuzzi, Idaho Steelheads
2012-13      Ryan Zapolski, South Carolina Stingrays
2011-12      Dustin Gazley, Elmira Jackals
2010-11      Ben Street, Wheeling Nailers
2009-10      Justin Donati, Elmira Jackals
2008-09      Bryan Ewing, Wheeling Nailers
2007-08      David Desharnais, Cincinnati Cyclones
2006-07      Colton Fretter, Gwinnett Gladiators
2005-06      Alex Leavitt, Alaska Aces
2004-05      Joe Tenute, South Carolina Stingrays
2003-04      Kevin Doell, Gwinnett Gladiators
2002-03      Jason Jaffray, Roanoke Express
2001-02      Frederic Cloutier, Louisiana IceGators
2000-01      Scott Stirling, Trenton Titans
1999-00      Jan Lasak, Hampton Roads Admirals
1998-99      Maxime Gingras, Richmond Renegades
1997-98      Sean Venedam, Toledo Storm
1996-97      Dany Bousquet, Birmingham Bulls
1995-96      Keli Corpse, Wheeling Thunderbirds
1994-95      Kevin McKinnon, Erie Panthers
1993-94      Dan Gravelle, Greensboro Monarchs
1992-93      Joe Flanagan, Birmingham Bulls
1991-92      Darren Colbourne, Dayton Bombers
1990-91      Dan Gauthier, Knoxville Cherokees
1989-90      Bill McDougall, Erie Panthers
1988-89      Tom Sasso, Johnstown Chiefs